Désolé.
Nous ne pouvons pas mettre à jour votre liste de souhaits pour le moment.

Tortues marines - Animaux de Disney

Une tortue carette, au fond du récif corallien

Epcot

Future World

Taille requise

Toutes les tailles

Âges concernés

Tous les âges

Accessibilité et autres renseignements | Ouvre une boîte de dialogue

Accessibilité

  • Peut demeurer en fauteuil roulant/véhicule électrique

Intérêts

Rencontres avec des animaux

Effectuez un voyage dans l'histoire des tortues marines, depuis leurs œufs enfouis sous le sable jusqu'à leur grande traversée dans les courants profonds.
Une tortue carette nage au-dessus des algues.

Où trouver des tortues marines

Faites l'expérience de magnifiques tortues marines de 250 livres nageant dans l'océan, vous serez émerveillé!

Tortues marines à Walt Disney World Resort
Les visiteurs peuvent observer nos tortues vertes (Chelonia mydas) et nos tortues carettes (Caretta caretta) dans le centre The Seas with Nemo & Friends à Epcot.

Les tortues marines dans la nature
Les tortues marines vivent dans les mers chaudes autour du globe. Elles trouvent leur nourriture dans les fonds herbeux marins, dans les récifs coralliens et en haute mer, mais elles peuvent migrer sur de longues distances entre leurs zones d'alimentation et les plages de nidification où les femelles retournent déposer leurs œufs.

Les menaces qui pèsent sur les tortues marines
Parmi les 7 espèces de tortues marines, six d'entre elles se trouvent dans les eaux des États-Unis et les 6 sont protégées par les projets de loi sur les espèces en danger et les traités internationaux. La chasse des tortues marines pour leurs carapaces, leur viande et leurs œufs a causé une forte diminution de leur population. Aujourd'hui, d'autres menaces pèsent sur les tortues marines, y compris la capture accidentelle par les bateaux de pêche commerciale et la perte de l'habitat de nidification, résultat du développement des côtes.

Efforts de conservation de Disney
La Walt Disney Company s'engage avec passion dans la protection des tortues marines et de leur habitat maritime. Apprenez ce que Disney fait pour les tortues marines ainsi que la façon dont vous pouvez aider!

« J'ai beaucoup appris du monde animal et ce que tout le monde pourrait apprendre en les étudiant, c'est un nouveau sentiment d'affinité avec la Terre et tous ses habitants. » – Walt Disney

Des vétérinaires inspectent une petite tortue verte.

La conservation chez Disney : Sauver les tortues marines

La plupart des menaces sur les tortues sont accidentelles, mais elles n'en sont pas moins mortelles pour ces créatures marines paisibles.

Contre l'adversité
Après éclosion, les tortues marines ont toujours fait face à de très grandes difficultés. Les prédateurs sur les plages, comme les ratons laveurs, les crabes, peuvent les attraper dès leur sortie des œufs. Les très jeunes tortues qui réussissent à atteindre la mer peuvent devenir les proies de poissons et d'oiseaux. Aujourd'hui, les petites tortues font également face aux obstacles dus aux êtres humains. Les châteaux de sable, les meubles de plage, les puits de sable et les déchets peuvent bloquer leur chemin vers la mer ou empêcher les tentatives de leurs mères pour déposer les œufs au premier endroit. Les très jeunes tortues peuvent confondre les lumières des routes et des bâtiments avec la lumière naturelle du ciel nocturne sur la mer et se diriger dans la mauvaise direction, s'éloignant ainsi de la mer. Les scientifiques estiment que seulement une tortue sur mille survit et devient une tortue adulte.

Les menaces des humains sur les tortues marines
Parmi les menaces qui pèsent sur les tortues marines, il y a les collisions accidentelles avec les bateaux, les étranglements dans les filets des navires de pêche commerciale (capture accessoire), la pollution marine due au déversement de pétrole, le ruissellement des engrais, les plastiques que les tortues prennent pour de la nourriture et avalent, ainsi que la destruction de l'habitat côtier due aux digues et au développement des plages. Dans certains pays, les œufs des tortues marines sont récoltés et mangés et les tortues sont tuées pour leur viande et leurs belles carapaces qui sont utilisées en bijouterie et pour d'autres articles de luxe.

Disney aide les tortues marines dans leur habitat naturel
Cinq espèces de tortues de mer habitent la Floride et elles sont toutes menacées et en danger d’extinction. Le changement climatique, la mort par capture accessoire et la perte d’habitats de nidification et de butinage sont parmi les nombreuses menaces auxquelles font face les tortues de mer aujourd’hui. Dans le but de contrer leur déclin, le soutien de Disney aide les organismes sans but lucratif à sensibiliser davantage le public, à contrôler les populations et à restaurer l’habitat marin et les zones de nidation sur les plages. Le Disney Conservation Fund soutient aussi la recherche, l’éducation et les subventions d’approche communautaire pour protéger les tortues de mer olive ridley, en Inde et les tortues hawksbill au Nicaragua, à El Salvador et au Kenya.

Réhabilitation des tortues marines
Depuis 1986, l'équipe de l'ASE (Disney’s Animal, Science and Environment) a soigné plus de 300 tortues marines en danger et leur a permis de retrouver la mer. À Epcot, The Seas est un centre de réhabilitation pour les tortues marines locales, blessées par des bateaux par étranglement, ou malades, y compris les tortues « étourdies » par les eaux froides en hiver. Les tortues marines sont des animaux à sang froid et lorsque les eaux tropicales refroidissent brusquement, leur température corporelle baisse et elles sont souvent incapables de nager. Les vétérinaires de Disney utilisent des tuyaux pour les nourrir, leur administrer des antibiotiques et des médicaments antifongiques ce qui aide les tortues qui ont été secourues à combattre les infections. Une fois rétablies, les tortues marines sont relâchées dans leur habitat naturel, le plus souvent équipées d'un transmetteur par satellite personnalisé qui permet aux scientifiques de surveiller leurs déplacements et de mieux comprendre leurs besoins en matière de conservation.

Des jeunes regardent une grande tortue marine dans un aquarium vitré.

Les tortues marines de Disney : Un deuxième chez-soi

Nos tortues marines bénéficient d'un régime personnalisé et d'un habitat riche qui se fonde sur une recherche approfondie de leur histoire naturelle.

Un monde sous-marin très riche
Le fait d'enrichir les vies de nos animaux est une passion qui nous guide chez Disney. Dans le centre The Seas with Nemo & Friends, nos différentes espèces de tortues marines partagent un aquarium de 5,7 millions de gallons d'eau salée avec plus de 6 000 autres animaux : des poissons, des requins et des raies. Notre récif corallien, créé par Disney, offre des endroits stratégiques pour les tortues afin qu'elles y nagent, qu'elles explorent, qu'elles se cachent, se reposent et interagissent avec d'autres espèces, comme elles le feraient dans la nature.

Vous êtes ce que vous mangez?
Nos tortues vertes bénéficient d'un régime végétarien et consomment environ 20 livres de laitue romaine, de laitues à feuilles vertes et rouges et de chou, chaque jour. Leur nom provient de la couleur de la graisse sous leur carapace : elles mangent tellement d'algues dans la nature que leur graisse devient verte! Les tortues carettes, quant à elles, sont carnivores; leur régime quotidien comprend une livre de calamars et 2 livres de harengs, en plus de vitamines spécialement formulées pour elles.

Soins vétérinaires et dressage des animaux
Les experts chargés des soins aux animaux dans le centre The Seas utilisent des techniques de formation positive pour encourager des comportements souhaités qui raviront les tortues, ainsi que les visiteurs humains. Les tortues marines viennent à la surface de l’aquarium aux heures de nourriture lorsqu’elles en reçoivent le signal, ce qui aide les experts chargés des soins animaux à surveiller les régimes des animaux et leur permet d’examiner visuellement chaque animal.

L'histoire de Little Crush
Une tortue verte, petite et très malade, s'était échouée près de Melbourne Beach, en Floride, et avait été amenée au centre The Seas, à Epcot. L'équipe de soins vétérinaires de Disney se rendit compte que « Little Crush » avait avalé plus de 70 morceaux de déchets maritimes, depuis des ballons et des sacs en plastique jusqu'à des lignes monofilament et des chaînes. Heureusement, le traitement digne d'un spa qu'elle a reçu à Epcot a réussi et la tortue de cinq livres a été relâchée dans l'océan à l'hôtel Vero Beach de Disney. Le suiveur GPS de la tortue Little Crush a révélé qu'elle a réalisé un incroyable voyage de 536 milles (863 km) lors de ses 102 premiers jours de liberté et de santé!

Une tortue verte nage parmi les poissons tropicaux.

Les tortues marines sont incroyables

Comment ces énormes reptiles au sang-froid, qui respirent, se sont-ils aussi bien adaptés à l'océan? Grâce à des adaptations spécialisées!

Des adaptations aux océans
Les corps des tortues, aérodynamiques, se sont incroyablement adaptés à la vie dans les océans. Leurs pattes avant sont devenues des palmes allongées qu'elles utilisent pour nager et leurs petites nageoires arrière servent de gouvernail, pour la direction. Leur vision sous-marine est meilleure que la nôtre et elles ont un odorat très développé pour la localisation des aliments. Bien qu'elles vivent dans les océans, elles doivent remonter à la surface pour respirer. Voyez comment les tortues remontent généralement toutes les 20 minutes pour respirer, mais pendant de longues périodes de repos elles peuvent rester sous l'eau pendant plusieurs heures!

Le régime sous-marin
Le régime d'une tortue verte est fonction de son âge! Les plus jeunes mangent des méduses, des vers et d'autres petits animaux à la surface de l'océan. Mais à 2 ou 3 ans elles deviennent herbivores et ne se nourrissent que d'algues et d'herbes marines. Les tortues carettes, quant à elles, sont carnivores. Elles possèdent un énorme bec assez fort pour casser les coquilles des mollusques et des crustacés qu'elles mangent. Les jeunes tortues carettes mangent des invertébrés comme les méduses et les petits crabes alors que les adultes préfèrent des animaux dotés d'une coquille comme les limules, les palourdes ou autres invertébrés croustillants.

Des œufs, des œufs et encore des œufs
Les jeunes tortues de mer passent leur vie à se reposer, à migrer avec les saisons et à se déplacer d'un habitat à l'autre. Les mâles ne retournent jamais sur terre et les femelles n'y vont que pour y déposer leurs œufs. Une fois la maturité atteinte, entre 25 et 50 ans, les femelles retournent sur la même plage où elles ont vu le jour pour y déposer leurs œufs. Elles sortent de l'eau pendant la nuit, rampent pour dépasser la ligne de marée et creusent un nid dans le sable avec leurs larges nageoires avant. Après avoir déposé, en moyenne, 100 œufs de la taille de balles de ping-pong, elles recouvrent le nid avec du sable et retournent à la mer. Les femelles reproduisent ce processus de 5 à 6 fois pendant leur été de nidification, déposant ainsi environ 600 œufs! Elles migrent ensuite jusqu'à leurs eaux habituelles; elles reviendront déposer de nouveau leurs œufs dans 3 ans.

Ping-pong bouillant
La vie d'une tortue marine commence à l'intérieur d'un œuf robuste enterré dans le sable. Le genre de la tortue dépend de la température du sable : lorsque le sable est plus frais il y aura plus de mâles, dans des sables plus chauds, plus de femelles! Après environ 2 mois, la tortue de mer voit le jour; on appelle cela le « bouillonnement », car le nid semble se mette à bouillir par l'agitation des petites tortues. Les bébés tortues se frayent un chemin dans le sable et commencent à ramper vers la lumière la plus brillante qu'elles voient, la lune qui se reflète dans l'eau. Une fois dans la mer, elles se laissent porter par les courants océaniques et on les revoit rarement; c'est la raison pour laquelle certains scientifiques appellent la première année de vie d'une tortue marine « l'année perdue ».

Une tortue verte nage parmi les poissons tropicaux.

Vous aussi, vous pouvez aider les tortues marines!

Vous n’avez pas à vivre près de l’océan pour protéger ces créatures marines en danger!

Manger intelligemment. Certaines pêcheries attrapent du poisson en utilisant des outils et des techniques qui peuvent piéger des tortues marines sans méfiance. La prochaine fois que vous mangerez au restaurant ou que vous irez à l’épicerie, assurez-vous de demander des options de fruits de mer durables qui ne nuisent pas aux tortues marines. Pour obtenir une feuille de référence pratique, téléchargez l’application gratuite Seafood Watch sur votre appareil mobile. Vous découvrirez des options de fruits de mer durables dans votre région en plus d’apprendre quels sont les aliments que vous devez éviter. Les parcs et hôtels Walt Disney sont fiers de s’associer au programme Seafood Watch du Monterey Bay Aquarium pour sélectionner des fruits de mer sauvages et d’élevage qui ne sont pas issus de la surpêche ou récoltés de manière pouvant compromettre le bien-être de nos océans, de nos lacs, de nos rivières et de nos ruisseaux.

Accrochez-vous bien à vos ballons! Perdre un ballon peut être décevant, mais c’est carrément dangereux pour les tortues marines. Les ballons à la dérive peuvent se retrouver dans l’océan où les courants convergent et où les tortues marines se nourrissent. Ces dociles habitants de l’océan ont tendance à méprendre les ballons éclatés pour de la nourriture, ce qui peut être mortel pour eux. Aidez les tortues marines à rester en santé et à préserver la propreté des eaux de l’océan en vous assurant de ne pas perdre vos ballons. Une bonne façon d’y arriver consiste à attacher un poids à votre ballon pour éviter qu’il ne s’envole par mégarde; gardez l’œil ouvert et vous verrez cette stratégie mise en pratique dans les parcs et les hôtels Walt Disney!

Dites non au sac jetable. Lorsque les sacs de plastique se retrouvent dans l’océan, cela peut prendre des décennies avant qu’ils ne se décomposent. Pire encore, les tortues marines méprennent souvent ce déchet flottant pour un de leurs aliments préférés : les méduses. Acheter un sac d’épicerie réutilisable et recycler les sacs de plastique représentent de bonnes manières de protéger la nature, de réduire les déchets et d’aider les tortues marines!

Dites-le à un ami. Une des choses les plus importantes que nous pouvons faire pour aider les tortues marines consiste à partager l’information au sujet des menaces auxquelles elles sont confrontées et de la façon dont nous pouvons les aider. Avez-vous appris quelque chose de nouveau en visitant notre page? Si c’est le cas, veuillez la partager avec une personne que vous connaissez!

Visitez les sites Web ci-dessous pour apprendre comment Disney rend le monde meilleur pour la vie sauvage et ses habitats et pour découvrir également d’autres façons amusantes pour faire la différence vous aussi!

Disney Conservation Fund (DCF)

Le parc Disney’s Animal Kingdom

The Seas with Nemo & Friends

Amis pour le changement

Disneynature

UF Archie Carr Center for Sea Turtle Research

Seafood Watch

« J'ai beaucoup appris du monde animal et ce que tout le monde pourrait apprendre en les étudiant, c'est un nouveau sentiment d'affinité avec la Terre et tous ses habitants. » – Walt Disney

Horaires

jeudi 8 décembre 2016

  • de à
Début du contenu de l’infobulle Fin du contenu de l’infobulle
  • Pour obtenir de l'aide pour votre visite au parc Walt Disney World, composez le +1 407 939-1861.
  • De 7 h à 23 h (heure de l’Est). Les visiteurs de moins de 18 ans doivent avoir la permission de leur parent ou tuteur pour appeler.
Liens de bas de page

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les mises à jour

Soyez les premiers au courant des dernières nouvelles et des offres spéciales du Walt Disney World Resort.

Inscription réussie

Merci de votre inscription! Vous recevrez des nouvelles et des offres spéciales très prochainement.

Powered By OneLink

Sorry.
We are unable to update your Wish List item at this time.

Sea Turtles - Disney Animals

Loggerhead sea turtle at bottom of coral reef

Epcot

Future World

Guests Can Be

Any Height

Age Interest

All Ages

Accessibility and Other Information - Opens a dialog

Accessibility

  • May Remain in Wheelchair/ECV

Interests

Animal Encounters

Follow the sea turtle’s age-old journey from sand-buried eggs to the great escape of a deep-current cruise.

Loggerhead sea turtle swimming near sea grasses

Where to Find Sea Turtles

Experience the wonder of 250-pound sea turtles cruising the deep blue, and you’ll be like…Whoa!

Sea Turtles at Walt Disney World Resort
Guests can see our green sea turtles (Chelonia mydas) and loggerhead sea turtles (Caretta caretta) at the The Seas with Nemo & Friends at Epcot.

Sea Turtles in the Wild
Sea turtles live in warm oceans around the world. They find their food on shallow seagrass beds, coral reefs and the open ocean, but can migrate long distances between their feeding grounds and the nesting beaches where females return to lay eggs.

Threats to Sea Turtles
Six of the world’s 7 sea turtle species are found in U.S. waters, and all 6 are protected under the Endangered Species Act and international treaties. Historic harvest of sea turtles for their shells, meat and eggs has caused their populations to severely decline. Additional threats to sea turtles today include accidental capture by commercial fishing boats and the loss of beach nesting habitats as a result of coastal development.

Disney Conservation Efforts
The Walt Disney Company is passionately committed to the protection of sea turtles and their ocean habitats. Find out what Disney is doing for marine turtles—and how you can help, too!

“I have learned from the animal world, and what everyone will learn who studies it, is a renewed sense of kinship with the Earth and all its inhabitants.” – Walt Disney

Veterinarian inspecting small green sea turtle

Disney Conservation: Saving Sea Turtles

Most threats to sea turtles are accidental—but they’re no less deadly for these peaceful marine creatures.

Against the Odds
Newly hatched sea turtles have always faced difficult odds. Beach predators like raccoons and sand crabs can snatch them up as soon as they emerge from their eggs. Hatchlings that successfully make it to the ocean can fall prey to predatory fish and birds. Today, the tiny turtles face human obstacles as well. Sand castles, beach furniture, sand pits and trash can block their path to the sea—or their mother’s attempts to lay eggs in the first place. Hatchlings can confuse lights on roads and buildings with the natural glow of the night sky over the sea and head in the wrong direction, away from the water. Scientists estimate that only one in a thousand hatchlings survive to become an adult sea turtle.

Human Threats to Marine Turtles
Other threats to sea turtles include accidental boat strikes, entanglement in the nets and lines of commercial fishing boats (called bycatch), water pollution from oil spills and fertilizer run-off, discarded plastics that turtles mistake for food and coastal habitat destruction from seawalls and beach development. In some countries, sea turtle eggs are harvested and eaten, and the turtles are killed for their meat and beautiful shells, which are used to make jewelry and other luxury items.

Disney Is Helping Sea Turtles in the Wild
Five species of sea turtles inhabit Florida—and all are threatened and endangered. Climate change, death in fisheries bycatch and loss of nesting and foraging habitats are among the numerous threats that face sea turtles today. In an effort to reverse their decline, Disney’s support helps nonprofit organizations increase public awareness, monitor populations and restore marine habitat and beach nesting areas. The Disney Conservation Fund also supports research, education and community outreach grants to protect the olive ridley sea turtles in India and the hawksbill turtles in Nicaragua, El Salvador and Kenya.

Sea Turtle Rehab
Since 1986, Disney’s Animal, Science and Environment (ASE) team has nursed more than 300 endangered sea turtles back to health and returned them to the sea. The Seas at Epcot acts as a rehabilitation center for local sea turtles injured by boat strikes, entanglement or illness—including turtles “stunned” by cold water in the winter. Sea turtles are cold-blooded, so when tropical waters suddenly turn frigid, their body temperature drops and they are often unable to swim. Disney veterinarians use feeding tubes to administer food, antibiotics and anti-fungal medications to help rescued turtles fight off infections. Once recovered, healthy sea turtles are released back into their ocean home—often with a custom-fit satellite transmitter that allows scientists to track their movements and better understand their conservation needs.

Young people watching large green sea turtle through aquarium glass

Sea Turtles at Disney: Home Away From Home

Our sea turtles enjoy custom diets and rich habitats based on in-depth research into their natural history.

A Rich Underwater World
Enriching the lives of our animals is a guiding passion at Disney. At The Seas with Nemo & Friends, our sea turtle species share a 5.7 million gallon saltwater aquarium habitat with over 6,000 other animals like fish, sharks and stingrays. Our Disney-made Caribbean coral reef offers strategic spaces for the turtles to swim, explore, hide, rest and interact with other species much as they would in the wild.

You Are What You Eat?
Our green sea turtles enjoy a veggie diet, consuming about 20 pounds of romaine, green leaf and red leaf lettuce and cabbage each day. They get their name because of the color of the fat under their shells—they eat so much seagrass in the wild that their fat turns green! Meanwhile loggerhead turtles are carnivores, so their daily diet includes 1 pound of squid and 2 pounds of herring—plus a specially formulated sea turtle vitamin!

Veterinary Care and Animal Training
The animal care experts at The Seas use positive training techniques to encourage desired behaviors that the turtles—and their human Guests—will enjoy. The sea turtles come to the surface of the aquarium at feeding times when signaled, which helps the animal care experts monitor the animals’ diets and provides the opportunity to do a visual inspection of each animal.

The Story of Little Crush
A small and very sick green sea turtle washed ashore near Melbourne Beach, FL and was brought to The Seas at Epcot. Disney’s veterinary care team found that “Little Crush” had swallowed over 70 pieces of marine litter, from balloons and plastic bags to monofilament line and string. Thankfully, the spa treatment rehabilitation he received at Epcot was successful, and the 5-pound turtle was released back into the ocean at Disney’s Vero Beach Resort. Little Crush’s GPS turtle tracker revealed that the youngster logged an incredible 536 miles (863 km) in his first 102 days of freedom and health!

Green sea turtle swimming among tropical fish

Sea Turtles Are Amazing!

How do these massive, cold-blooded, air-breathing reptiles take to the ocean so well? Through specialized adaptations!

Ocean Adaptations
Sea turtles’ streamlined bodies are remarkably adapted to ocean life. Their front legs have been modified into elongated flippers that they use for swimming, while their short, wide hind flippers act as rudders for steering. Their vision underwater is better than ours, and they have an acute sense of smell for locating food. Although they live in the ocean, they must come to the surface to breathe air. Sea turtles usually surface every 20 minutes to breathe, but during periods of rest they can stay underwater for several hours!

Underwater Diet
The diet of a green sea turtle depends on its age! Juveniles feed on jellyfish, worms and other small animals at the surface of the ocean. But at the age of 2 or 3 they become herbivores, feeding only on algae and sea grasses. Loggerheads, on the other hand, are carnivores. They have a massive beak that is strong enough to crush the shells of the mollusks and crustaceans they eat. Young loggerheads eat invertebrates like jellyfish and small crabs, while adults feed on larger, hard-shelled animals like horseshoe crabs, clams and other crunchy invertebrates.

Eggs, Eggs and More Eggs
Young sea turtles spend their lives resting, migrating with the seasons and moving between habitats. Male sea turtles never return to land, and females return only to lay eggs. Upon reaching maturity—at 25 to 50 years of age—females return to the same beach where they were born to lay their eggs. They emerge from the sea at night, crawl above the tide line and dig a nest in the sand with their wide back flippers. After laying an average of 100 ping-pong ball sized eggs, they cover the nest with sand and return to the sea. Females repeat this process 5 to 6 times during their summer nesting season—laying about 600 eggs!—then migrate back to their home waters until they return to nest again in 3 years.

Ping Pong Boil
A sea turtle begins life inside a leathery egg buried in the sand. The gender of the turtles depends on the temperature of the sand—cooler sands produce more males, warmer sands produce more females! After about 2 months, the sea turtle nest hatches—which is called a “boil,” because it looks like the nest is boiling over with turtles. The hatchlings dig their way out of the sand and start crawling toward the brightest light they see—the moon reflecting on the water. Once in the sea, they catch and ride ocean currents, and are rarely seen again—which is why some scientists call the first year of a sea turtle’s life the “lost year.”

Green sea turtle swimming among tropical fish

You Can Help Sea Turtles, Too!

You don’t have to live near the ocean to protect these endangered sea creatures!

Eat Wisely. Some fisheries catch fish using tools and techniques that can trap unsuspecting sea turtles. Next time you dine out or are at the grocery store, be sure to ask for sustainable seafood options that do no harm to sea turtles. For a handy cheat sheet, download the free Seafood Watch app for your mobile device. You’ll learn about sustainable seafood options in your area as well as discover which items to avoid. Walt Disney Parks and Resorts is proud to collaborate with the Monterey Bay Aquarium’s Seafood Watch program to select wild and farmed seafood that is not overfished or harvested in ways that may compromise the well-being of our oceans, lakes, rivers and streams.

Hang on Tight to Your Balloons! While losing a balloon can be a bit of a downer for us, it can be downright dangerous for sea turtles. Flyaway balloons often end up in the ocean where currents converge and sea turtles feed. These docile ocean-dwellers tend to mistake burst balloons for food, which can be life-threatening for them. Help keep sea turtles healthy and the ocean waters clean by making sure your balloons don’t get away from you. One helpful tip is to attach a weight to your balloon so it doesn’t accidentally fly away—keep an eye out for this strategy in practice throughout Walt Disney Parks and Resorts!

Bag the Disposable Bag. When plastic bags end up in the ocean it can take decades for them to decompose. To make matters worse, sea turtles often mistake this floating garbage for one of their favorite foods: jellyfish. Purchasing a reusable grocery bag and recycling plastics are both great ways to protect nature, reduce waste and help sea turtles!

Tell a Friend. One of the most important things we can do for sea turtles is to share information about the threats they face and how each of us is able to help. Did you learn something new from visiting our page? If so, please share it with someone you know!

Visit the websites below to learn how Disney is making the world a better place for wildlife and their habitats—and discover other fun ways you can make a difference, too!

Disney Conservation Fund (DCF)

Disney's Animal Kingdom park

The Seas with Nemo & Friends

Friends for Change

Disneynature

UF Archie Carr Center for Sea Turtle Research

Seafood Watch

“I have learned from the animal world, and what everyone will learn who studies it, is a renewed sense of kinship with the Earth and all its inhabitants.” – Walt Disney

Hours

Tuesday, December 06, 2016

  • to
Beginning of tooltip content End of tooltip content
  • For assistance with your Walt Disney World visit, please call (407) 939-5277.
  • 7:00 AM to 11:00 PM Eastern Time. Guests under 18 years of age must have parent or guardian permission to call.
Footer Links

Sign Up for Updates

Be the first to hear about the latest news and special offers at Walt Disney World Resort.

Sign Up Successful

Thank you for signing up! You should begin to receive news and special offers very soon.